top of page


Tales from Europe Symphony Concert- May 5, 2024

Engelbert Humperdinck- Prelude to Hansel and Gretel


Engelbert Humperdinck was a German composer. He is known widely for his opera, Hansel and Gretel, first performed on December 23, 1893, conducted by Richard Strauss. It has been associated with Christmas since its earliest performances and today it is still most often performed at Christmas time.

Engelbert Humperdinck
Set design for Hansel and Gretel by Mario Sala in 1902

Felix Mendelssohn- Concerto for violin in E minor


Felix Mendelssohn was a German composer, pianist, organist, and conductor of the early Romantic period. Premiered in 1845, the Violin Concerto in E minor, is Mendelssohn’s last concerto. Well received at its premiere, it has remained among the most prominent and highly regarded violin concertos.

Portrait of Mendelssohn, 1847
Ferdinand David, the violinist who premiered the piece and whose collaboration was essential for the concerto's birth.

Richard Strauss- Aus Italian


Richard Strauss was a German composer and conductor best known for his tone poems and operas. Aus Italien (meaning from Italy) is a tone poem for orchestra described by the composer as a "symphonic fantasy". It was inspired by the composer's visit to Italy and was completed in 1886 when Strauss was 22 years old.

Richard Strauss age 22
Strauss conducting, circa 1900
bottom of page